N. K. Jemisin

Nora K. Jemisin (born September 19, 1972) is an American science fiction and fantasy writer and a psychologist. Her fiction explores a wide variety of themes, including cultural conflict and oppression.[1][2] She has won several awards for her work, including the Locus Award. As of her August 2018 win, the three books of her Broken Earth series have made her the only author to have won the Hugo Award for Best Novel in three consecutive years.

In 2009 and 2010, Jemisin’s short story “Non-Zero Probabilities” was a finalist for the Nebula and Hugo Best Short Story Awards, respectively.[3] Her debut novel, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, the first volume in her Inheritance Trilogy, was nominated for the 2010 Nebula Award, and short-listed for the James Tiptree Jr. Award.[4][5] In 2011, it was nominated for the Hugo Award, World Fantasy Award,[6] and Locus Award, winning the 2011 Locus Award for Best First Novel.[7] The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms also won the Sense of Gender Awards in 2011. It was followed by two further novels in the same trilogy – The Broken Kingdoms in 2010 and The Kingdom of Gods in 2011.

In 2016, Jemisin’s novel The Fifth Season won the Hugo Award for Best Novel, making her the first African-American writer to win a Hugo award in that category.[8] Its sequels, The Obelisk Gate and The Stone Sky, won the Hugo Award for Best Novel in 2017[9] and 2018,[10] respectively.

Read more…

Rad more



Young Adults Do Read

Welcome to my blog. I hope you will enjoy this companion to the Nanosia Series, a surprising twist of science and magic.

Cuddle up with a good book. It’s the next best thing to chocolate.


What is Nanosia?

A subatomic world where quanta (protons, electrons, etc.) and atoms have a world and culture of their own.
In Queen of the Quantum Realm, you will meet Queen Quanta and f her right-hand man Nano who with the reluctant help of Jawan, the apprentice of the earth mage, fight to keep the quantum realm in check against the diabolical schemes of Antipan.
From there go right into Fire Master. In this second book we visit Atomidon, the second kingdom of Nanosia. Here Jawan’s friend Loby searches for the secret to fire magic as King Cestor plots against the creation of atoms.
Book three will come out near the end of 2019, when our little hero Peanut is forced to make a life or death decision in Cenozonia, the third kingdom of Nanosia, where life is created.

On this blog, I’ll bring you weekly tidbits from the world of young adult fantasy , introduce you to authors and novels in this genre, post reviews, and occasionally post updates about events in my writing life.